The world in color

So I am back in the park sitting on the bench I sat on yesterday.  I felt like I would benefit from spending as little time inside my apartment as possible today.  The weather is nice enough, it’s sunny with a gentle breeze and it’s not too humid for me to handle, but the world seems shrouded in grey light which gives New York a sort of depressing hue.

Earlier this summer my boyfriend and I got in a discussion about color.  We went to Sedona for the day and when we came back I started editing the pictures we took on iphoto.  He told me he would prefer I didn’t retouch the pictures too much because he wanted to remember Sedona the way it actually was.

This comment caught me off guard.  By editing my pictures I was hardly trying to tamper with the memories of our day, frankly I have always thought that by editing my pictures I can make them better reflect what it was actually like being there.

I have a very distinct aesthetic touch when it comes to photo editing.  I love boosting the color and making everything stand out as vibrantly and violently (as the bf says, “viblantly”) as possible.   This is how I see the world.  I see it in sharp and rounded angles, in brilliant and faded colors. 

I think color can be an amazing descriptive adjective.  My mood most days can be best described by a color.  An example is recently I would say I feel very baby blue, but I wish I had a bit more green and gold energy.  The only problem is for all I can tell no one else really understands or has the same connection with color that I do.

The blues and other winter colors are all up in the air.  I think they are my predominant characteristics.  Greens and other earth tones are what ground me; bring me back to firm footing and reality when my head is amongst the clouds.  Then there are the reds and golds; these are the most inconsistent of the color spectrum.  Some days they are fire, they are heat and passion.  These days (with my longing for autumn) they make me feel of warmth and security-all the things I’m yearning for right now.

Today I feel grey, which is unspecific middle ground.  I don’t feel dark, I don’t feel light, but I do feel a little pale.  This is partly because I have had such a lazy day, and literally feel like I haven’t accomplished anything, it’s also because whenever I look around myself – sitting in this park surrounded by people – I see grey coming at me from everyone and everything, which leads me to believe that I am not the only one waiting for something to happen.

I warned everyone in my first blog entry that this blog was a venue for the inner ramblings of my mind, and I said that it doesn’t always make sense.  I think this entry is proof of that.

Also, just an observation.  I went through and edited this post real quickly, and in that one time through I deleted the word “just” 16 times.  I think that is a comment on where I am.

This just seemed like an appropriate picture to end this post with
This just seemed like an appropriate picture to end this post with

Leave a comment